gradientlair:

Please believe that I am deeply in my feels, so deep, about this film having a sequel. I was an adult when the original came out (1999, sophomore in college) and I saw it opening night with a really good male friend at the time. We both loved it. The only contemporary Black film from the 90s that I love more is Love Jones. (I had some of the best times of my life in the 90s. I always refer to it as my coming of age period as middle school through undergrad occurred in the 90s for me.)

I just saw the trailer for The Best Man Holiday and it’s great. (Warning, unfortunately the song “Blurred Lines” is played in part of it. If the song is triggering for you, you may want to skip about the first minute of the trailer; it’s 3 minutes long. For those who don’t understand why it would be triggering to someone, see this post.)

In the trailer, “Jordan” (portrayed by Nia Long) has a partner and is in an interracial relationship. I was wondering what they were going to do with her character since she was portrayed as the Black career woman who unlike everyone else didn’t end up with anyone at the end of The Best Man. Her partner is portrayed by the actor Eddie Cibrian (damn he fine). I wouldn’t have minded if she didn’t have a partner in this sequel but the film is framed with some more “traditional” perspectives on relationships so it’s not surprising. Despite some ideological differences I have with some of the portrayals in the film, I still liked the original overall.

It looks like it’s going to have some good plot twists and laughs so I can’t wait to see it. The only film I am looking more forward to seeing than this one is 12 Years A Slave

The Best Man Holiday hits the theatres on November 15, 2013. I hope it lives up to the original.

