(Another Photo Set of) Confessions of an #AmbitiousBlackFeminist preparing for a poetry feature.

PROVIDENCE, RI – So, I’ve actually lived through the baby steps and arrived at the final stages of prep for a “feature” I’m doing tonight at Blue State Coffee. I’ve already (written and) selected the poems as well as short excerpts and prose I’d likely be sharing and I’ve now touched up my nails to make sure the glitter is poppin!’

This final step includes reading and finalizing the order of pieces, doing my hair, picking out an “outfit,” and grabbing copies of 3 AM is the New Black to sell if there are any buyers/takers.

Back to, of course, my hair and outfit – I’m not sure what style to go with tonight, nor do I know what I’ll wear, but since, really, it’s my first poetry feature, I’m likely to go with whatever strikes me as inspiring reactions such as"I liked hearing that stuff,“ "wow, I didn’t hate that,” and “maybe that zine she’s talking about isn’t filled with nonsense!”

More info about tonight below. Hope a friend or two – and some non-friends as well – pop by to hear the [fill in the blank, mad-libs syle] :-)

Sunshine and laughter,
Reza Rites

***

Romantics Never Die, Revolutionaries Always Win: 
A Conversation with Dakota Castro and Reza Clifton
@Got Poetry Live

Tuesday, November 5, 2013
8:00-10:00 PM

Blue State Coffee
300 Thayer Street
Providence, RI

$3.00 

***

MORE INFO/BIOS:

-> About Dakota Castro

Sometimes it seems like romantics never die.
Rather they (we) live forever
Haunted by the passions and desires
That sit alongside the could-have-beens and should-have-beens
It’s crazy how the heart beats –
Heartaches and all.

– DC

My name is Dakota Castro. I love. A lot. Sometimes this is used against me. Sometimes it is my secret weapon. These stories are not supposed to be told; they were supposed to stay classified. If you follow me, be careful.

***

About Reza Clifton 
(Reza Rites / Venus Sings / Reza Wreckage)
#AmbitiousBlackFeminist

Reza Clifton is an award-winning writer, producer, digital storyteller and cultural navigator from Providence, Rhode Island. Since 2007, she has been recognized for multimedia projects that appear on her flagship blog, RezaRitesRi.com; for written work and direction as health editor for She Shines, a regional women’s magazine; and for leadership as a young professional and community organizer in Providence. In 2011, two separate magazines named Reza “Most Musical” and a “Trender” due to her work bringing diverse styles of music, poetry and other mediums of art to the community. 

In 2012 she organized a bilingual poetry festival in which a group of bilingual poets and performers “in-residence” performed at schools, cafes, and other community venues. Her own poetry, published work and multimedia projects have shed light on ways to examine and blend words, music, art, the Pan-African identity, feminism and love.