newwavefeminism:

wocinsolidarity:

writeswrongs:

unimpressed2chainz:

gorgonetta:

[Self-portraits by Carrie Mae Weems, Käthe Kollwitz, Judy Baca, and Frida Kahlo, text “Never apologize for selfies”]

In retrospect some of my largest problems in academia have been when I choose to write about myself.  White male writing professors discourage navel-gazing especially for abused women of color, and memoir is considered whiny and self-centered.  But who else is going to tell my story?

Am I to wait for a white man to write about me? Or remain unspoken of?

!!!!

That point on academia is so sadly true. White male gatekeepers treat marginalized narratives with such disdain. But write about the existential angst of being [a white man] and it’s a fapfest in office hours.

Those images are glorious.

